Skip directly to content

Manitoba Library Service Awards

The deadline for Award nominations and Scholarship applications has been extended to June 18, 2017. Don't delay - get your application in today!


The Manitoba Library Service Awards

The Manitoba Library Association welcomes nominations of people who have made a significant contribution to library services in the province of Manitoba. Please consider nominating someone you think is worthy to receive one of these awards.


The Manitoba Library Service Awards are sponsored by the Manitoba Library Endowment Fund as part of the Fund's work in encouraging excellence in Manitoba libraries. This Fund is administered through the Manitoba Library Association.


The purpose of the award is to honour those people -librarians, library workers, trustees, volunteers ­who have made a significant contribution to the operation and development of libraries and library services in the province of Manitoba.


There are two awards which recognize those acting in a professional or a voluntary capacity.

  • Professional category – This award recognizes exemplary service over a long period of time by a salaried employee in the library field in Manitoba, or, a significant or extraordinary contribution by such an employee within a shorter time frame.
  • Volunteer category – This award recognizes a significant contribution to the operation or development of library services in Manitoba by those who have donated their time as a trustee, fund-raiser, or volunteer worker.


Application process: Deadline for nominations is June 1, 2017.

  • Anyone may make a nomination: it is not necessary to be a member of MLA.
  • Nominations should be submitted in the form of a letter of not more than two pages, indicating the award category (professional or volunteer), citing the person being nominated and detailing the work they have done for libraries.
  • The nomination should include the names and signatures of both the Nominator and a Seconder of the nomination.
  • Please provide complete contact information for the Nominator, Seconder, and Nominee.
  • Nominations, including any supporting documentation, should be sent to:


Manitoba Library Association
ATTN: Awards Committee
#606 -100 Arthur Street
Winnipeg MB R3B 1H3
Fax: 204.942.1555



An Awards Committee selected by the MLA Executive Committee will consider the nominations and determine the winners. The Committee may also choose, at its discretion, not to present an award in either category in any year.


The winner(s) of these awards will be presented at the MLA AGM or MB Libraries Conference.